Photography & the moment it inspired me


I’ve always loved photography, especially fashion photography.  I’ve never wanted to try it, but I think it was after I had a spell of doing a few catwalk runs back in 2012, that I got a thirst for watching pictures being taken.  Yet for a person who doesn’t even own a smart phone ( :-O I know, nor do I own a Macbook!) picking up a camera was intimidating.

Walking - in-Oswestry-Shropshire
(c) Andy Molloy

It wasn’t until I moved to Shropshire, away from the  traffic, bored looking kids on the street and an endless amount of pizza places – that I was introduced to open spaces. I marvelled at giant Californian redwoods that had smiley faces in their barks, unspoiled flower beds, interesting and winding rivers, and hills that I  could see the most spectacular views from. A recipe that made me thirsty to get the camera out.

Walking - in-Oswestry-Shropshire
(C) Andy Molloy
Quite literally my back garden!
Walking - in-Oswestry-Shropshire
(C) Andy Molloy

Then my aunty and uncle (who’s a professional photographer) came up to visit me in my new home and I decided to take them  for a local walk.  As well as it being a very sunny day which made for very pleasant for walking, it was also intriguing to watch my uncle Andy walk ahead of us, or stop at certain points to take pictures. He was in his own world, and rightly so!  Looking back at the photos that he took, I admire his eye for detail and his perspective on our walk.  I think it was this walk  with my uncle that actually made me want to start taking pictures myself.

Not long after I got a camera. Although I don’t call it photography – rather taking pictures,  because it’s a learning process for me still.  I do like the style that I’m developing, and the gift of a tripod off my kind uncle is helping to sort out my sometimes ‘wonky’ shots.

Here’s some more of his pictures…

Walking - in-Oswestry-Shropshire
(c) Andy Molloy
Walking - in-Oswestry-Shropshire
(c) Andy Molloy
Walking - in-Oswestry-Shropshire
(c) Andy Molloy

I find taking pictures helps me to be more mindful, and it’s the only time that I can completely switch off.  I took this hobby up to help with my writing. Sometimes, writing words all day is not the most creative thing!

Inspiration is a wonderful thing and I love those ‘ah-ha’ moments. My picture page is here.

In other news, it’s been a entire year since I moved and I haven’t missed my stilettos one bit!

Thanks for reading!

Chelsea- Louise

Leave a Reply

