Simple Vegetarian cooking : #1


Veggie recipes

 As you read last week, I got a box of fruit and veggies courtesy of Shropshire small business Box Of Goodness. I’ve promised myself that this year, I’m going to eat the ‘stuff” that’s GOOD for me. That doesn’t mean I’m going to quit the indulges (everything in moderation, even moderation – Oscar Wilde) just simply improve upon my lifestyle.

Veggie cooking if done right (I’m still learning) is delicious and full of flavor as well as ethical and healthy. I’m lucky to live in a market town that prides itself of fresh food (odd shapes or not!) So here’s my modern take on stew.

Leek & garlic chunky vegetable stew 

Since I live on the door step of Wales - Leek is very easy to get a hold off and one of my favourites!!
Since I live on the door step of Wales – Leek is very easy to get a hold off and one of my favourites!!

Preparation time & Cooking time –  45 mins 

Ingredients  (serves 2)

  • 1 -2 large sized potatoes or 3 small ones
  • 1 large carrot
  • 1 large parsnip
  • half of leak
  • half of onion
  • 3-4 mushrooms
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • garam  masala
  • coriander leaves
  • onion gravy
  • teaspoon of butter
  • 1 1/4 cup of water

Prepare 

Tip: leave the skins on all the veggies – for extra nutrients!

1. Wash the potatoes, carrots and parsnips in cold water and scrub any soil off. Top and tail them and cut them into chunky pieces. Think generously…

Chunky veggie stew

2. Cut the white part of the leak off from the green leaves and give it a wash. Using your knife, cut down the centre of it, and then give it a wash again. Leaks are known for being rather a dirty veg!  Then finely chop like you would an onion.

Vegetarian recipes

3.  Skin the first layer of the mushroom, and wash gently. Keep the stalks, and chop long ways in to chunky pieces.

NEWcooking2

4. Thinly slice an onion (after pealing it) and finely chop up some garlic. The best top to get great flavour out of your garlic, is to gently crush it with the flat side of your knife before chopping.

Garlic before it's chopped!
Garlic before it’s chopped!

Cooking 

(The bigger the veg – the longer the cooking time.)

1. Put the potatoes, carrots, and parsnips into a steamer and cook for 20 -25 minutes.

2. Then put a teaspoon of butter into a hot frying pan and put in the onions, leaks and mushrooms. Cook on high heat for the first 5 minutes and then lower the heat so that it doesn’t burn for the further 10 minutes cooking time.

3 Whilst cooking, add a tablespoon of garam masala and  tablespoon of coriander leaf and stir in.

I use this two in most of my dishes.
I use these two in most of my dishes.

4. Once cooked, put 3- 4 heaped teaspoon of onion gravy granules into the pan with about a cup and quarter full of water (depending on how thick you like your gravy – less water.) Keep stirring and leave to bubble and simmer. This helps the flavours to mix together.

5. In a bowl or plate, empty out the veg out of the steamer, and pour over the gravy mixture. Add a sprinkling of coriander leaf  and serve hot. Although it does taste nice cold too!

It’s one of my favorite recipes and it’s so easy to do – perfect in the winter! You can add any veggies really and also Quorn, tofu or soya, but this is my own take on traditional stew. I choose to steam rather than boil because when food is boiled the nutrients goes.

Tip: you can also use the water out of the steamer to make the gravy. as this left over water has a lot of vitamins and minerals, that have been evaporated out of the steamed veg. 

And now your expecting a finished picture, but my camera batteries ran out! ( I never said that I was the love child of David Bailey and Nigella Lawson.)

Let me know if you do decide to try it, and what you thought of it. I’m looking forward to use the rest of my Box Of Goodness – recipes coming soon!

Thanks for reading,

Chelsea- Louise

3 thoughts on “Simple Vegetarian cooking : #1

  1. Yummycious, had fun reading your vegetarian article, wonderful ideas, thoughts very well created, i see your taste and interest in writing, chosen topic made it much more delicious than the actual dish, thanks for such an interesting idea ..fun time reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

