Oswestry Willow Gallery : afternoon tea


My afternoon tea outing in my local town of Oswestry was an excuse for clotted cream (an excuse- as if!) I love afternoon tea because it feels typically British and it brings images of sitting on the lawn outside of a beautiful manor house, wearing a floaty dress and one of those material umbrellas to shade me from the sun.

I’ve  had a few afternoon teas in my town, but this was the best I think. Not only was the food fresh and local, it had a great Vegetarian option, the service was very impeccable and warm. I also loved the atmosphere of the room – it was well lit, and I wanted to stay there ( the amazing scones had nothing to do with it honest!) With an art gallery and craft shop next door too, it made for a great day out.

Tea always tastes better in China!
Tea always tastes better in China!

Willow Eatery Oswestry

I always have a strategy with my afternoon tea. Usually because there is SO much of it, I want to eat it all but I know my eye site is much better than my digestive system. Although we were told that we could take home any leftovers (win,) I still had to endorse my ‘strategy’ which  is to take a bit of everything. From the cream cheese and cucumber/ carrot and hummus sandwiches, quiches, scones, peanut butter cheesecake, ginger cake, strawberries, brownies, and  a countless array of other sweet treats.

Willow Eatery Oswestry

Willow Eatery Oswestry

Willow Eatery Oswestry

Willow Eatery Oswestry

All washed down with sweet tea and lemon water. Put it this way, I’m so glad that I didn’t eat prior.

All washed down with sweet tea and lemon water.

In an attempt to walk it off, we had a viewing around the Willow Art Gallery. I haven’t been to an art gallery in a while. When living near Liverpool, I always use to pop into the Tate gallery before or after meetings. I love galleries in general because they’re very quiet and have a lot of space. They help to clear my mind and put some distance between my thoughts.

My local gallery is very active in putting on exhibitions, mic nights, networking groups as well as lots of art and crafts. This was the first time I’ve been since moving 15 months ago and it certainly won’t be my last.

This one of my favourite pieces!

Artist Beth Roberts -
Artist Beth Roberts –
Artist Beth Roberts - Cosmic Energy
Artist Beth Roberts – Cosmic Energy

Obviously I’m female, and say yes (frequently) to pretty things. So I was lured into the craft shot where I bought this slate love heart – because I think I need a little bit more of love in my life.

Slates of Wales  Jennifer Beeson  07971363038
Slates of Wales
Jennifer Beeson
07971363038

Over all, it was a fantastic day that cost £22.50 for two people for afternoon tea,free entry to the art gallery and £5 for my gift.

What’s your favourite part of afternoon tea? Drop me a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Chelsea – Louise

Leave a comment