Guest post : Veggie cooking made simple #2


Note to reader: since it’s international women’s day I thought I’d get a man in the kitchen… 

Hello, I’m Rob from I Wrote A Little Something, and a few weeks ago me and Chelsea decided to do a guest post, challenging ourselves to step out of our comfort zones a bit, and explore things we don’t usually write about. I’ve done a few recipes before, but for baked goods, and I was challenged with the idea of ‘vegetarian cooking.’ At first I thought, ‘oh dear, I’m one of the fussiest eaters ever, this isn’t going to go well at all,’ mainly because a lot of dishes require things to be.. put together, and I don’t really like things when they’re… put together. I then thought I could create a meal out of ‘better versions of things,’ which is what I set out to do today…

I thought about the parts of a meal, and how little things could really change them and make them better, and went on to create (most of) the following meal.

image
I’ve got a bit of an obsession at the moment with putting vinegar on my vegetables. I say a bit… a lot, and so I found the idea of roasting the vegetables in vinegar very exciting! I chopped up a carrot and a swede, cooked them separately with a tablespoon of oil and a tablespoon and a half of vinegar, and left to cook for 30 minutes at 180 degrees Celcius (fan-assisted, I’d go for 200 if you don’t have a fan oven.)
image[1]
I’d already prepared some mashed potatoes, and made them creamier with some butter and a touch of cream cheese. Once they cooled a little, I moulded them into balls and flattened them a tad, before adding black pepper and some grated cheese to the top, and putting them in the oven to roast for 10-15 minutes. They should crisp up a bit round the edges, but still be soft and smooth in the centre – perfect.
image[2]
Can we all take some time to appreciate how cute this little cheese grater I got in a cracker is?
image[3]
For some homemade croutons I melted a little bit of butter, and cut a slice of bread into short strips. I dipped them in the butter, maybe a bit too much, and then into the leftover grated cheese, sprinkled some black pepper and ground herbs and put in the oven for a couple of minutes to crisp up.
image[4]
I then did the same to two corn on the cobs, but I added some honey to the melted butter beforehand. I dipped them in the mixture, then into the grated cheese, wrapped in foil, and cooked in the oven for about 8 minutes.
image[5]
It turns out, even 25 minutes is too much too cook the carrots and swede, as they all turned pretty rank, so if you have time, boil some more veg and add a few drops of vinegar over the top (I improvised with some cucumber.)
image[6]

This is the final meal, not looking exactly as I expected, but still delicious nonetheless. My favourite part was the mash, which I will definitely be implementing into future meals, and of course try to perfect the roasted vegetables, which really shouldn’t be that hard to do, but there we go haha.

Thank you to Chelsea for having me on her blog!

Thanks Rob – I applaud your veggie cooking efforts!

See my music challenge here

Chelsea Louise

2 thoughts on “Guest post : Veggie cooking made simple #2

Leave a Reply

