Life: Talk to Me about Life


I’ve been having a great summer so far, with trips to the beaches of Wales, endless BBQS and more recently an awesome festival (that took me days to recover) – it’s been spectacular and I know there’s more to come!

The beach in particular always makes me feel extra grateful for being alive. I can’t tell you how much joy it gives me to swim in the cool ocean and bury my feet into the sand. I think I must have been a mermaid in another life. Whilst I’m walking along the sand, with the wind blowing in my face and I listen to the rushing of the waves, I get this surge of excitement that nestles in my stomach and my heart starts pounding – there I am with a huge grin on my face like the Cheshire cat. It’s a feeling I try to bottle and keep for those less than perfect days.

And the same can be said for when I’m sitting around with my friends eating yummy cake or freshly picked plums and apples from their gardens; the chatter, the laughter, the smile, I love basking in the warm glow of good company. Even if it’s people who I don’t know, I love meeting new faces and seem to warm to them rather easily.

Over the weekend whilst at a festival, I got to meet a load of exciting and interesting characters that reaffirmed just how diverse life is. My highlight was simply laying on a bouncy castle looking up at the Cheshire stars, and talking to a stranger about everything and anything.

It’s these kind of understated moments that makes me realise life is really worth it – it’s a gift, one that keeps on going in all ways.

Today I found out that a school friend passed away, she was just 25. I know she really lived those 25 years to her fullest…

My 24th is coming up in a few months and I was nearly quick to jump on the ‘oh not another Birthday’ bandwagon but I was even quicker to stop and think about how I’m privileged to be alive.I get to make the most of this life as much as I can and be me.

So, talk to me about life, what’s good about yours?

Chelsea Louise

8 thoughts on “Life: Talk to Me about Life

  1. I’m really sorry to hear about your school friend. I always have the following saying stuck in my mind : “growing old is a privilege denied to many” – reminds me to get my bottom in gear xxxxxxx

  2. I love this post – good for you having such an amazing summer and it sounds like it’s been a busy one! Which festival did you go to? I love the way you talk about the beach and the sea – I’m exactly the same, I love being by the sea, feel so lucky and definitely share the mermaid vibes! It is so sad to hear about your school friend, I too heard about a girl I knew at school recently dying, she was around the same age – so sad! But like you say, at least you know they lived their lives to the fullest and it inspires you to do the same… have you made any plans for your birthday yet? I’m super busy at the moment, lots of festivals and work on so trying to keep a balance.. as long as I get plenty of sunshine I’m happy πŸ™‚ xxx

    1. Thank you…. I had such a fantastic Summer last year (it was my first summer living in a new place) that I thought this year had to be even better.

      My next move is going to be somewhere with a beach right on the door step. I’m thinking of moving more into the coast so Barmouth way. It’s beautiful there and that’s where I go for my mermaid adventures.

      Aw, I’m sorry to hear that too. I guess it’s the cycle of life and yes live it to the fullest that you can.

      I’m hoping to be away on holiday in Cyprus or Portugal for my birthday or at least around that time, so more beach adventures. I see you’re planning a big back packing trip. NZ is on the to-do list, I look forward to see you documenting that.

      Yes balance is key and not always easy but we strive on regardless hey!

      Thanks for stopping by, I’ve subscribed ( I thought I already had!)
      xxx

      1. Ahh that definitely sounds like a good goal to me πŸ™‚ bigger and better with each year! That sounds lovely and I’ve just googled it – looks beautiful there! You literally couldn’t be any further the other side of the country to me haha I’m in Norfolk, right on the coast! But nice to know we’re keeping up the mermaid fun on both sides of the Isle πŸ˜›
        Ahh you lucky devil being on holiday for your birthday – I love birthday holidays! Portugal will be lovely πŸ™‚ I’ll look forward to seeing some pics.
        I am indeed πŸ™‚ so excited for it, yes NZ looks stunning – I’ve got a few friends who have just been and I spend my time gazing longingly at their facebook pics! I’ll definitely be keeping you all posted on each step πŸ™‚
        xxxxxxxxxxx

      2. ha ha ” But nice to know we’re keeping up the mermaid fun on both sides of the Isle” I loved this – we’ll doing our bit for mermaid power.

        My friend lived out in NZ for 3 years and loved it – I’d gaze at the pics also. Super lucky.

        Catch up with you soon lovely. xxxxxxxxxx

  3. So sorry to hear about your school friend. It really reminds you of the fragility of life and the need to grasp every moment and live life to the full – and it sounds like you are with your summer! I’ve just got back from a weekend with friends and now looking forward to camping in just over a week’s time, which all makes me very happy! Hope you have a lovely weekend πŸ™‚
    xx

    1. That’s OK and thank you. Camping sounds awesome. I’ve glamped so far this year and plan to camp soon. Where are you going? I look forward to reading it should you blog about it.

      Have fun! xx

Leave a Reply

