Veggie adventures : Part Raw -Full Vegan


I’m not a healthy veggie. I’m a chips and cheese kind of veggie with a cheese cake or 3 and some Belgian chaux buns. I’m not giving them up or telling you I should cut down because I simply won’t

Everything in moderation, even moderation – Oscar Wilde

What I am doing is increasing more of the goodness into my eating habits and swimming often! When being healthy, I follow a principle from someone called Deepak Chopra. He says that the body doesn’t need to diet instead it just needs to get a handful of all  colours from all of  the food groups.

Seems simple enough right?

I’ve been inspired to eat more good foods due to spending a lot of time with my friends who are damn good cooks.

They’re part veggie (although the husband who was referred to as Mr Meat Man has now converted) not my doing I can assure you.  His Stilton, avocado and pear salad leaves me wanting more (although I’m too full)  and he’s converted me to loving avocado.

Clink the pic for an altered recipe for the colder months.
Clink the pic for an altered recipe for the colder months.

I order my fruit and veggies to my house each week. I go local all of the time and seasonal when I can. I’m sure I don’t have to tell you the advantages of going local: non gassed potatoes (hello Walkers,) non dyed tomatoes (hello Tesco) and so forth.

Every few months when I feel a bit over loaded, I go vegan and part raw. So I asked my fruit and veg supplier to just give me everything that I didn’t have to cook.

  • I tend to not eat eggs or milk anyway (although chocolate is an exception.)
  • I was going to try part raw (food is at its most nutritional when not cooked) and full vegan (no chocolate, cheese or milk.)

SO I promised my blogger friends some examples of what I’ve been eating. Here’s a short recipe (minus my own pictures because it was a last minute blog post.)

Vegan Food Recipe

Image (c) http://uk.pinterest.com/pin/112730796895875931/
Image (c) http://uk.pinterest.com/pin/112730796895875931/

Warm Quinoa Salad with Pineapple Serves 2

You’ll need:

  • A cup of quinoa
  • 1 veggie stock cube
  • Pinch of salt
  • Slice of lemon
  • Quarter of a cucumber
  • 2 Radishes
  • Half of a yellow pepper
  • 1 tomato with skin
  • A handful of cherry tomatoes
  • Pineapple (fresh)
  • Lettuce

1. Soak quinoa in cold water for a minute or so and then put into a pan with hot water and a veggie stock. Boil for about 18-20 minutes and drain excess water.

(When it goes clear and ‘pops’ in your mouth it’s done.)

2. Chop all of your salad up. I go chunky when I do mine.

3. Toss it into the quinoa whilst it’s warm and squeeze some lemon over it.

(You can add salt and pepper for extra seasoning and coconut oil into the pasta to sweeten it up.)

Notes:

I use lemon to avoid putting a dressing on. Most of the time these dressings and sauces hide the true flavour of what we’re eating.

I also love quinoa and although haven’t got the hang of cooking it properly (yet) it’s a vegan’s and veggie’s best friend; due to it having 9 essential amino acids (in just one grain!!!)

I use pineapple as my secret ingredient because I’ve a sweet tooth – I mention fresh because tinned stuff is soaked in caustic acid. Yum right?

I had this the next day but used pasta instead. I am switching to brown pasta, bread and rice because did you know anything that’s not naturally white is bleached?

I wouldn’t say I’m obsessed with my health but I’m just becoming more aware of what I put into my mouth.

Moving to the countryside does that.

What goodness are you eating?

Chelsea Louise

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

