London Calling again…


Picnics in the dark, under the stars, in the park, rock, I’ve decided. OK, so I didn’t have food or a blanket but I did have water (living it large), comfy backpack and a good old chin wag with my bestie,  (kind of a picnic though right?) as we celebrated Halloween with a fireworks and semi scary (not even a little scary really) show in the pleasure gardens in Vauxhall, London.

I’m not usually a big fan of fireworks, it’s the unexpected flashes of lights and bangs that scare the baby Jesus out of me – but this was an exception It was my first night ‘down south’ and what a way to start it!  Although I’ll never move to London, I am in love with the place, the pace, the faces, the many, many different and unusual faces.

I’m not too sure of the exact temperature that night, but someone who’s  from t’up North, it was like being on a beach in the Bahamas (slight exaggeration – OK, Caribbean…) For the end of October, the weather was glorious!

A tube and a train later, I was back at Bishops Stortford, a little place where Luke lives, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It’s pleasant and over the weekend we took a trip to a place called Hatfield Forest.I felt at home instantly with the mass of  lush green grass, and tall trees. I didn’t pack my Nikon because I like to travel light so I cam-napped Luke’s Nikon.

Something I’ve noticed  when using another’s camera (I’m not so sure if same for other people,) is I find it alien to use. A bit like when you try to write with your other hand – the pen feels odd! Granted his camera is technically the same model – I still find myself fumbling around.

Anyone else?

Anyway, here’s some pictures I took during my forest trips – I was lucky enough to catch the sun set and some lovely skies, although I’m still learning how to properly capture the hues and tones of pinks skies – I think I’ve done OK?

Hatfield Forest

new2

pic3

Hatfield Forest

Hatfield Forest

My mini holiday also included a nice detour (we got lost) around Bishops Stortford albeit Luke’s  lived in the sleepy little village for 12 years, we ended up on a back lane somewhere trying to use Google Maps.

My trip away was very much needed, and as I said in my last one, I’ve been a bit unhealthy of lately so it was a breath of fresh air.

My next trip will be in Paris in January and then later in the year, I’m going to somewhere I’ve always wanted to go, but it’s a secret for now.

Have you been away recently?

Leave a Reply

