Dolmelynllyn Nature reseve

National Trust: Dolmelynllyn Estate Walk


National Trust : Dolmelynllyn

On the way up to Coed Y Benin to take my beloved Nuttella around the tracks, I noticed some miniature waterfalls located next to a quint American style corrugated iron black church. My inner mermaid demanded that we stopped on the way back and  I’m glad we did because it was a magical place!

Dolmelynllyn is part of the National Trust and so we began our adventure at the bottom of the waterfall. It was a perfect opportunity to use my new selfie stick (which is amazing for videos by the way…)  The area is so boggy that grass doesn’t grow there, instead thick leafy and dark green coloured  moss hugs the ground and squeezes the trees.

Dolmelynllyn

It’s an enchanting place to be with only sounds of the rushing crystal waters and distant barks from dogs. I’d advise anyone who visits here to wear walking boots because there’s a number of opportunities to get your feet muddy, wet and it’s wise to protect your ankles from the deep rooted awkward tree roots.

It’s a mixture of a hike and a climb up to the top of the waterfall and there are some very steep ledges which if you get caught short on, could prove a challenge getting out of the nearby, rushing rock covered river.

Just before you get to the top, there is a lovely wooden bridge that connects the two half’s of the river. Once you cross, you can make your way up to the top. I grabbed a hold of the tree roots constantly to help my ascent up the waterfall.  It’s at this point  that the sign informs you that here is a nature reserve.

Dolmelynllyn Nature Reserve

Dolmelynllyn Nature reseve

Sadly I didn’t have my Nikon with me as it was supposed to be a MTB day but my iPhone 4s and selfie stick where on hand to save the day.  It’s definitely worth a trip before we go mountain biking next I think because there’s another part to it just over the road but my achy legs couldn’t carry me any further. Until next time!

Once home, I did some research about it and found out that the walk goes on for longer that I thought. The National Trust has the Dolmelynnllyn Estate walk  on their website which tells you more about it. The great thing is, they’ve toilets across the road and free parking (if you’re a member).

Have you been anywhere beautiful lately? Tell me about it.

C L Haden

Leave a Reply

