Visitng Lake Vrnywy Waterfall

Wish me luck – Coast to Coast is Happening!


If you’re reading this, I will be heading down to the North East of the country to start my 140 miles charity cycle today. I’m not going to lie to you, I’m scared! I’ve been training the past 6 months to help me prepare for it and I kinda feel ready but in some respects I don’t also.  I’d like to say a HUGE thank you to everyone who’s donated to the Sound Sense charity and I can assure you, it will spur me on up those hills.  I’m super lucky to be going with some of my good friends and I know the group is going to be awesome. It will be a team effort.

Since I can’t be with you on here during the cycle, below you’ll find what my itinerary is over the next three days.  I’ll also be on Instagram now and then and you can be sure of a few pictures of the surrounding scenery. I’ve been told it’s stunning!

So for your viewing pleasure here is is my Coast to Coast itinerary ….

May 29th -May 31st 

“We will be meeting in Tynemouth at Liberty Coaches HQ (our transport company) at 6.30am. They will then transport us to the Whitehaven start line and our start time of around 8.30am. If you don’t want a crazy early start on the Friday you can stay in Tynemouth to save the drive. (We’ve done that!)

We will cycle to Penrith (55 miles) on the first day. There will be some long up hills as we climb to 133 meters above sea level (this will be the toughest day). We have plenty of time to complete the route and will be stopping for lunch etc. Once we arrive in Penrith we will be staying at Norcroft guest house.

The second day we will set off, after a good breakfast, and make our way to our second evenings stay in Stanhope (42 miles) at Horsley Hall.  The last day of our trip will see us have a small climb in the morning followed by a long descent back to our cars and the finish line at Tynemouth (50 miles) for a total of 140 miles.”

I’ve been waiting for so long to accomplish something like this and although I know there’s going to be some tough mental challenges during the ride, the self-pat on the back will be worth it.

Wish me luck dear readers…

See you soon!

C L Haden

 

Leave a Reply

